U SPORTS Academic All Canadians: 74 Griffins receive honours for 2022-23 season

U SPORTS Academic All Canadians: 74 Griffins receive honours for 2022-23 season

MacEwan Athletics

EDMONTON – The MacEwan Athletics department is pleased to announce 74 Griffins student-athletes have been named as U SPORTS Academic All Canadians for the 2022-23 season.

It's the program's third-highest total of U SPORTS AAC recipients, marking yet another year of fantastic success in the classroom for the Griffins.

"I am always so impressed with the calibre of our student-athletes here, and they continue to impress not just on the court but in the classroom, too," said MacEwan Athletics Director Joel Mrak. 

"This is a strong group and representation across our department of the high-quality students we have competing here. It's an amazing achievement for these Griffins."

Highlighting the list of recipients is graduated women's basketball student-athlete Shannon Majeau, who breaks a program record by becoming the first Griffin to receive six U SPORTS AAC honours. 

As well, graduated women's volleyball players Megan Foxcroft and Dana Dunbar, and current Griffins student athletes Hannah Supina (women's soccer) and Hayley Lalor (women's basketball) joined three others on an exclusive list of five-time MacEwan recipients of a U SPORTS AAC award.

Women's hockey had the most recipients (17), while women's volleyball had 13 players receive the honour – the most-ever in a single season in program history.

Here is the complete list of winners by sport (in alphabetical order by sport):

Men's Basketball

Women's Basketball

Men's Hockey

Women's Hockey


Men's Soccer

Women's Soccer

Men's Volleyball

Women's Volleyball